Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,350 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Archive for September 30th, 2008

Tuesday, 9/30/08

Posted by newlawmom on September 30, 2008

Terrible thing? My darling college freshman has run up over $200 worth of text messaging costs and I can’t smash the phone into a million bits because she lives four states away. We’ve had this conversation before. Ship the phone home, baby. Mommy isn’t rich.  Attempting to raise two boys as a single parent on the income that 20 hours worth of work per week limitation allows me to live on while simulaneously making a substantial contribution to darling daughters educational costs doesn’t leave much money left over. Law school on scholarship is a blessing but it doesn’t eliminate living expenses. Spare me. Be grateful that you have a phone and respect the limits I’ve placed on it. Or pay for your own damn phone. Things like this make me angry.

So…I managed a B on the Civ Pro sample exam. Seeing that B was enough to make me want to cry happy tears. How did I get here? Clearly I need to do better. After considering the situation I realize it is not that I need to spend more time on the law work. It is a matter of method. My new strategy is to allow larger chunks of time towards individual classes, reading ahead, digesting the information, and outlining all at once in time chunks of several hours. This is in comparison to an hour or so of reading for one class, moving on to the next, and spending a few hours outlining all the courses on Friday night and over the weekend. A new strategy with plenty of time left to implement it before exams hit. Praying will not help me here. Action is required. But I do pray I am up to the task. There is something about law school that is making me feel old, unprepared, and on occassion, stupid. While I had heard this could happen, I didn’t expect it to happen to me.  I am glad I still have two months until exams. That leaves time to improve. So…I hope my readers have a lovely day. I plan on having an outstanding day tomorrow.

Posted in Law School Life, Parenthood | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »