Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,350 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Exams continue

Posted by newlawmom on December 11, 2008

Today was contracts. It was awesome and I did fine. Or? I missed something major. But I really don’t think so. I finished 20 minutes early, and that included time to review. I feel good about it. Only time will tell. Now it is on to Criminal Law. This is my hardest class, not because it is theoretically difficult but because my prof was somewhat intense.  He believes it is his job to find those students who do not belong in law school. He flunks people annually.  And he doesn’t actually want you to think. What he wants, as one of my classmates aptly put it, is word vomit. Word vomit is not my strong suit. This is a pure memory effort, as there are no outlines or books allowed. That’s ok. I know the concepts. It is the word vomit that might derail me. I like my own words. Neverthe less, I want an A in this class as bad as I want it in the others, so I need to step it up.  Motivation for tonight is lacking. But tomorrow morning will find me right on track and my entire weekend will also be devoted to the subject.

OH YEAH. I almost forgot. I saw my first 1L freakout this morning! The kid lost it as we were waiting for the exam to begin. It was pretty funny. In some ways, law school really is a drama parade.

Leave a comment