Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,167 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

moody

Posted by newlawmom on November 5, 2009

That’s me. Sometimes I think my mood affects my perception of things. Most of the time I think things affect my mood. I am tired. Law school is full of highs and lows and it just never balances out. There is also a distinct disconnect between why I’m in law school and what law school involves. Only rarely do the two things meet and every time they do I become confident I’m in the right field. So yesterday I got a chance ot talk about child sex offenders. Here’s the interesting thing: I think we have a problem with how these people are treated. I would never advocate sexual abuse. But I think we are violating the rights of some of these people who are accused. We are also violating the rights of those people who have been convicted, served their time, and been released back into society. It is crazy. And it does no good for the children. The most dangerous people to children live in their own home and have never been accused of molesting anyone. And recent cases prove that we don’t protect children better just because we know a person has committed sex crimes in the past. Look at Jaycee Dugard. Or the sex offender on the news right now who had eleven bodies in his apartment. These are terrible crimes, but they are unrelated to the convicted sex offenders who are homeless because of laws restricting where they can live. It’s a fine line. So….its my weekend. I need it. I am taking one solid day off from law school on Saturday. I need to plan a weekend long break pretty soon, before I lose my mind. I hope all my readers haveĀ  a lovely day.

One Response to “moody”

  1. Proto Attorney said

    You’re absolutely right. I don’t know what the solution is, but I know the current system is definitely not working. And the truth is, just because you put a sex offender’s address on a list, don’t let them live within 1000 feet of a school, and all the other things that are questionable from a due process standpoint, it doesn’t mean that person won’t still have the opportunity to abuse someone else.

Leave a Reply

 
