Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,173 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

Negotiation and progress

Posted by newlawmom on November 16, 2009

So, I spent my weekend at the ABA negotiation competition in my region and thus did not make much progress on anything else. My take on the competition? There is a heavy bias towards aggressive, demanding, get every penny you can type of negotiating and against my style, which is based on cooperation, politeness  and honesty. And I’m not changing, thus I won’t be winning any competitions. My  advice to anyone participating in a similar competition is to bring some leisure materials that don’t require thought. There was a lot of downtime, but I didn’t want to get into the legal reading I had brought with me. A handheld video game or some crossword puzzles would have been a much wiser choice. 

Disturbing comment of the weekend: “When my clients tell me they don’t want to sue, I say, ‘Don’t worry. We won’t. That’s why we’re going to threaten them and let them know we’re gonna sue if we don’t get what we want.'” I’m thinking that my way of doing business is more likely to earn me the respect of my clients. Perhaps I’m wrong. It’s not like I plan on allowing my clients needs to be walked on. But sometime maintaining a relationship is just as much of a motivator. I would not want that attorney representing me. If I say negotiate, I mean nicely. That is the whole point. Apparently, the attorneys I met see it much differently.

So…I need to go write a paper. But not before I mention Shaniya Davis. Her mother should be put to death. This is the type of crime against children that is most heinous.  The television had a video of all the little dots where sex offenders live in the town and every one of those people was a suspect. That is wrong. These people should pay for the crimes they have committed. But they shouldn’t be automatically blamed for crimes that are committed by other people.  I bet you 99.99% of them would never sell their own child into prostitution, to be raped and murdered at the age of 5.

Well, I hope my readers have a lovely day. I will write again when I get the opportunity.

One Response to “Negotiation and progress”

  1. […] whether readers would be interested in reading her ‘Law Skool Musical.’ 2L New Law Mom attended an ABA negotiation competition and found that her definition of  negotiation and that of her competitors were very different. 2L […]

Leave a Reply

 
