Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,170 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

Archive for November 23rd, 2009

2L turkey

Posted by newlawmom on November 23, 2009

There will be a turkey at my house on Thursday. I will stuff it, cook it, and eat it. But the holiday is being toned down. I have no desire to have a house full of people, no desire to put an entire day into preparing, another into partying, and a third into cleaning up. No time, no energy, and no desire. I have a one track mind. Law school. That’s it, nothing else. I will eat some turkey. I did not invite anyone else to join me. And I am not going to feel guilty about this. [hint – yes, I am prone to feeling guilty about this – I can think of at least ten reasons why it is important to make a big deal about Thanksgiving and invite family, friends, and strangers to celebrate with me] If I were invited to someone else’s place for Thanksgiving, I would decline. I am simply not interested this year. Because when push comes to shove, the only thing that matters right now is law school and the person who that matters to is ME. For just this once, I am going to put myself first. I do not want any additional interruptions. Managing my life with three kids and a house and full time school is quite enough, thank you very much. And the best news of all? This makes me HAPPY. So long as I don’t fall into the guilt trap. . .

So, I hope my readers have a lovely holiday. My sights are set on December.

Posted in 2L, law school, Parenthood | Tagged: , , , | 1 Comment »