Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,167 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

Archive for November 28th, 2009

Evidence

Posted by newlawmom on November 28, 2009

So here’s the deal. I have worked hard in evidence all semester. I completed all my reading, organized my notes, and read supplemental material in the form of Mueller and Kirkpatrick Black Letter Law. I have a handwritten outline that totals 21 pages of awesomeness, and I was confident that it would be sufficient for my purposes. I purposefully did not look at any old exams prior to completing my own work. But yesterday I looked. And I’m not happy. These law school folks are out of their minds. I could do the work. My outline is sufficient. But the way these babies are done, it is going to be a mad-dash writing fest with no time to breath, let alone think. The model answers are twenty typewritten pages. I have three hours. And I use a pen. I’m not sure that this one final exam is really the best way to assess my learning. But so help me God, I am going to kick butt on this thing. I am going to write his model answers for the past three years. Word for word. Because that is how I learn. Then, when I sit down with his exam, hopefully the words will just flow from my pen, effortlessly. For today, I am done with evidence. I need a break. The remainder of my weekend will be devoted to Federal Income Tax. I hope everyone enjoyed their holiday. I enjoyed mine. I got a lot done. But right now, my anxiety is on the rise. I’ll write again soon.

Posted in 2L, law school | Tagged: , , , | Leave a Comment »