Balancing Acts

A working single mom attending law school

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,173 hits
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Success!

Posted by newlawmom on June 29, 2011

I have quit smoking. Haven’t had one in six days already. And I have no intention of ever having another. Confession: I am wearing a nicotine patch so I haven’t suffered any physical withdrawal symptoms yet. For right now, I have no intention of ever taking the patch off.

On prepping for the bar: It’s getting close. I’m working hard. Right now I’m working on criminal procedure, using The Glannon Guide (Aspen), Criminal Procedure from First Contact to Appeal by John Worrall, and Basic Criminal Procedure (Thompson/West). I also have the audio cassettes from Gilbert with Prof. Whitebread lecturing. He is a character. I have sample questions for old bar exams and I am using those in preparation. Tomorrow I will focus on criminal/criminal procedure essay answers. I am also using Kaplan’s MBE Review Flashcards.

On summertime and children: I have a suntan! The children are tan. I have spent two days at the ocean and two at my local beach. We have been out for ice cream. Tomorrow night we are off to a street festival in our town, with live music, street performers, a farmer’s market, and local merchant sidewalk sales. We are hosting a picnic on the 4th. Unfortunately, our town hasn’t done fireworks for the past two years, so I still need to think about that. For the most part, the kids are happy. They’ve had lots of opportunity to hang out with their friends. The teenager is still a teenager. I love him, but he is a challenge. I think it would kill him to acknowledge that life is not a chronic catastrophe. So when it is time for chores, or when there is no instant gratification, his life sucks. I take the liberty of saying he is mostly happy with life even if he denies it.

I have applied for an attorney position that would make me a very happy woman. My boss (at the legal aid organization where I am volunteering for the summer) knows the person who is doing the hiring. They have already spoken about me, so I hear. As much as I hate to think that connections matter all that much, I am hoping in this case it does. I am also told they have been overwhelmed with applications, so….keep your fingers crossed for me. And….my sister, who has been a stay-at-home mom for almost ten years, just got hired to teach first grade for a public school system in our state. That is almost miraculous, given the state of the economy here and the serious competition that exists for teaching positions. So I am hoping some of that miraculous energy will flow in my direction. Here’s hoping you all have a great holiday weekend!

One Response to “Success!”

  1. So much good stuff in your post. I am happy for your summer, your six days of not smoking, your summer, your prospective awesome job, and your sister’s job! Here’s to good things continuing to come your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
